The OBON today posted this on their website under the “Prescribing Resources” section, along with their new formulary language as a link.

“The Exclusionary Formulary … was recommended by the Committee on Prescriptive Governance and adopted by the Board of Nursing in accordance with Sub. HB 216. It identifies the drugs that Clinical Nurse Specialists, Certified Nurse Practitioners and Certified Nurse-Midwives are absolutely prohibited from prescribing. The previous formulary that listed drugs with prescribing parameters is no longer in effect and has been removed from this webpage. It is incumbent on each Clinical Nurse Specialist, Certified Nurse Practitioner and Certified Nurse-Midwife pursuant to agreement with their collaborating physician to prescribe drugs consistent with the APRN’s certification, specialty, and standard care arrangement.”

What is excluded?

Under CURRENT Federal and Ohio regulations certified nurse practitioners, certified nurse specialists and certified nurse midwives may not prescribe the following drugs:

· All Schedule I Controlled Substances under the Federal Controlled Substances Act;
· All Schedule I Controlled Substances under Ohio Revised Code Section 3719.41;
· Medical Marijuana; and
· Abortifacients

All APRNs should discuss the impact of the new formulary on your practice with your collaborating physician or your institution.

More Info here: